Musical Motivation

Music is amazing. It can be anything and everything, and it can be nothing. Music can be used to convey a message, or even a feeling. Some music describes something, like an image. But the effect that music has on the listener is so interesting.

No matter what kind of music it is, music has a way of making the listener feel something. For instance, rap and hip hop are not my favorite music genres, but when ever I can hear someone else’s music (and feel it because people always seem to have their bass up way to high, I shouldn’t be able to feel your bass two cars back) I can feel the spirit, freedom, and message that is being conveyed through that music. I can hear the strength behind the lyrics and in the artists voice, loud and clear (even though rap is mostly gibberish to me, but I assume those who listen to it regularly can actually hear the lyrics). It’s amazing and sometimes music doesn’t even need lyrics to convey something, but that’s for a different post.

The playlist that I currently listen to on repeat is my “Take On The World” playlist. It is titled as such because, at the time, I was reflecting on my latest relationship and all that wonderful stuff. It has remained with its original title because I’m starting down a new path with new goals and I know it’s going to be a long, sometimes hard, road. These songs give me a confidence boost and reminds me that I can do anything I can set my mind to. Of course it does help that some of these are female empowerment songs.

Here’s a link to the playlist… I add and take from it from time to time so don’t be surprised if there’s other songs on there… Take on the World Playlist

Try Everything – Shakira

Yes, this is the Shakira song from “Zootopia,” but it’s a great song. It’s upbeat and always give me the feeling that I can do anything. I like to listen to it first thing in the morning when I wake up because when I hear it, I feel ready to face anything. For me the chorus is what resonates with me. The chorus is so upbeat and Shakira’s delivery of the words help me believe that I can reach my goals for myself.

I won’t give up, no I won’t give in
Till I reach the end
And then I’ll start again
Though I’m on the lead
I wanna try everything
I wanna try even though I could fail

You Can’t Take Me – Bryan Adams

There are a couple of songs from “Spirit: Stallion of the Cimarron.” It’s my favorite movie and over the years, it has new meaning for me and where my life is at the time. Anyway, this song occurs when Spirit is taken by the US army, it’s an interesting scene and it has always been one of my favorite songs. The whole song really resonates with me. There are several lines that always stick out to me, but if I put them all here, it would almost be the entire song. So for now, I’ll put the two lines from the chorus.

Never gonna give in
Never gonna give it up, no

Sometimes when I’m ready to call it quits or give up on something, I think back to that line and it reignites my spirit and will.

You Don’t Own Me – Grace

This song was originally release by Lesley Gore in 1963. The version I listen to is the one from “Suicide Squad.” When I first heard it in the movie, I knew I liked the sound of it, but the part it was played in was so brief, I didn’t really know what it was. When I found it later, I was pleasantly surprised.

Don’t tell me what to do
And don’t tell me what to say
Please, when I go out with you
Don’t put me on display

I’m young and I love to be young
I’m free and I love to be free
To live my life the way I want
To say and do whatever I please

The chorus and the final bridge are the two parts that jump out at me the most. There are other parts, but again if I were to put them here it would essentially be the whole song. For me, this song voices my independence and self-assurness.

It’s My Turn Now – Keke Palmer

This is yet another Disney song. This whole song is just about taking the will and power inside you and doing what you want to reach your goals. These opening lyrics solidify my motivations and keep me wanting to pursue my goals.

Inside I feel I’ve got what it takes
To prove to the world
Who I really can be
I know for sure
There’s no stoppin’ me

Survivor – Destiny’s Child

This song is essentially your basic breakup song. It’s all about rising up and continuing on, but it is empowering especially since the chorus is what it is.

I’m a survivor
I’m not gon’ give up
I’m not gon’ stop
I’m gon’ work harder
I’m a survivor
I’m gonna make it
I will survive
Keep on survivin’

It sort of goes back the Bryan Adams lyrics, “Never gonna give in, never gonna give it up.” I’m not going to stop trying to reach my goals and when it gets hard, I’ll work harder.

Run The World (Girls) – Beyonce

I love this song so much. I loved it the day it came out. I just love it.

Boy I know you love it
How we’re smart enough to make these millions
Strong enough to bear the children
Then get back to business

This is hands down my favorite part of the whole song, because it’s true. The whole song is just amazing and I love it so much.

Fight Song – Rachel Platten

This song is so versatile. It can be a break up song. It can be a “getting my life together” song. It can be a “starting something new” song. I like to listen to this song when I feel like almost all hope is lost.

This is my fight song
Take back my life song
Prove I’m alright song
My power’s turned on
Starting right now I’ll be strong
I’ll play my fight song
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes
‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me

Feeling Good – Muse

What’s a playlist without Muse. This is Muse’s version of Feeling Good. It’s a song I play when I’m feeling great and sure of myself. It’s also a song I use to boost my mood.

Stars when you shine, you know how I feel
Scent of the pine, you know how I feel
Yeah, freedom is mine
When you know how I feel

This is the high point of the song. I always imagine the sun coming back from behind a cloud, like a burst of light, at this point in the song. It’s a burst of “I can do it.”

Sound The Bugle – Bryan Adams

This is definitely a downer compared to most of the others. This is another one of the songs I play when I’m feeling lost or over my head. It starts slow and then picks up at the end. In the movie, this song frames how Spirit is feeling in the moment. He’s in a train car with other horses after being re-caught by the US army. He’s feeling low and like he can’t do anything, but then gets the fight in him reawakened.

Then from on high somewhere in the distance
There’s a voice that calls, “Remember who you are.
If you lose yourself your courage soon will follow.
So be strong tonight. Remember who you are.”

For me, this section of lyrics reminds me to think about why I’m doing what I’m doing and what I’m working towards.

Push It To The Limit – Corbin Bleu

I typically listen to this song when I’m studying or taking notes. It’s also a common song around midterms and finals.

Work, work it harder
Gotta take it farther
No holding back
We’re reaching for the sky now
Be even better
Work, work together
It’s now or never
Show ’em how we shine, we gotta
Push it, push it
To the limit, limit
‘Cause we’re in it to win it
In it to win it
Oh yeah

That’s the playlist I listen to when I need a boost in motivation or just something to listen to while I work.

What are some of the songs you listen to for motivation? Are there specific sections of lyrics that speak to you and resonate?

Until next time, Sanders out.


Musical Motivaton

One thought on “Musical Motivation

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.